Winners of the “European Inventor Award 2014” were announced


In the period 16 – 17 June 2014, in Berlin, Germany, were held the “European Inventor Award 2014” days, organized by the European Patent Office. The event was dedicated to promoting intellectual and creative potential in Europe and designating inventors who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of economy, science and technology.The award ceremony brought together around 500 renowned personalities and inventors from the fields of business, science, culture, senior officials from the European institutions, representatives of the German government and other European Union countries, including the German Federal Minister of Justice and Consumer Protection Heiko Maas, the ceremony being opened by the President of the Federal Republic of Germany, Joachim Gauck.Moldova was represented in the events dedicated to “European Inventor Award 2014” by Mrs. Lilia Bolocan, Director General of the State Agency on Intellectual Property (AGEPI).This year, “European Inventor Award 2014” was presented in five categories: lifetime achievement, industry, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), research, non-European countries and popular prize.International Jury designated the winners of the 15 finalists who were selected from over 300 proposals for individual inventors and teams nominated for awards in 2014. To preselection of inventors also contributed the general public, which voted online to select the winner of the Popular Prize of the 15 finalists.After evaluating the proposals, the Jury has designated the following winners of the contest “European Inventor Award 2014”.In the category “Lifetime Achievement” was awarded Artur Fischer (Germany), who has a portfolio of over 1100 applications for patents and utility models, and is considered one of the most prolific inventors of all time. His invention, “the expanding wall plug” (or Fischer wall plug), revolutionized the construction industry in 1958 and has been used billions of times around the world ever since. Among other innovations which have earned him worldwide recognition include the first synchronized photo flash for cameras and his “fischertechnik” toy building sets.Details: the category “Industry” winners are Koen Andries (Belgium) and Jérôme Guillemont (France). The team was distinguished for its efforts in developing the first effective tuberculosis drug in 40 years. The innovative drug quickly cuts off the energy supply in tuberculosis bacteria, significantly reducing treatment time and enabling a full recovery.Details: for the category of “Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises (SMEs) - have been awarded Peter Holme Jensen, Claus Helix-Nielsen and Danielle Keller (Denmark). The Danish team received the Award for their invention of a water-purifying membrane coated with aquaporins, which purifies water without consuming large amounts of energy. The innovation of this Danish team of chemists relies on the natural filtering function of so-called aquaporins. Unlike conventional methods, it does not require an elaborate filtration system based on energy- and cost-intensive hydrostatic pressure.Details: the category “Research”: winner became Christofer Toumazou (United Kingdom) for his invention of a quick DNA test which can decipher the genetic makeup of individuals within minutes, without the need for lab work - a milestone along the path to innovative medical healthcare with a preventive focus. The innovation is based on a microchip that detects deviations in an individual human genome. The chip can be inserted into a USB stick, providing results that are viewable directly on a computer.Details: W. Hull (United States of America) was awarded the European Inventor Award in the category “Non-European countries” for his invention of 3D printing - a technology that is currently in use in many areas and that has triggered a veritable revolution in manufacturing. Although a multitude of different procedures for 3D printing now exist, however they are build on Hull’s original invention.Details: less important, Popular Prize was awarded to the team of inventors Masahiro Hara and Takayuki Nagaya (Japan), for the invention which refers to the QR code (Quick Response). These inventors have received nearly 30% of the more than 20 000 votes cast online. This code can be used in everyday life, as well as for managing inventory in factories, administering patient files, tracking biological samples, as a marketing tool, etc. QR code connects the physical world to the virtual domain by means of a smartphone or tablet and the appropriate software.Details: in Berlin of the Award Ceremony “European Inventor Award 2014” is an additional possibility to assessing the best inventors, their achievements to improve people’s everyday lives and represent significant contribution to tackling major global challenges such as climate change, access to clean drinking water and improving health. Their ingenuity and creativity are indicative of Europe’s position as a leading technology region.For more information about this event please visit: